American Telugu Association elects new leadership

Community News

At a ceremony on Jan. 21, 2023, Madhu Bommineni was sworn in as American Telugu Association’s 21st President and will be serving in that role for 2023 and 2024.

The formal ceremony was held at ATA’s board meeting in Las Vegas at the Mirage Resort, where outgoing President Bhuvanesh Boojala conducted Bommineni’s swearing-in ceremony, handing her the gavel symbolizing the transfer of responsibility to the new President.

Hailing from Raleigh, North Carolina, Bommineni is the second woman President at ATA and has been associated with the organization for the past 18 years serving in various positions including as Joint Secretary, Secretary, and Executive Director.

During the meeting, the ATA Board also elected Jayanth Challa, unanimously as the President-Elect for the next 2 years.

Under the direction of the President, the ATA board also elected the Executive Committee to serve along with the President, for the next two years, a press release from ATA said.

The new Executive Committee consists of President Madhu Bommineni, President-elect Jayanth Challa, Ramakrishna Reddy Ala (Secretary), Satish Reddy (Treasurer), Tirupati Reddy Yerramreddy (Jt. Secretary), Ravinder Guduru (Jt. Treasurer) and Hari Prasad Reddy Lingala as Executive Director

The ATA Board of Trustee elections were held in January 2023 to fill 16 vacant positions for a 4-year term. Newly elected Board of Trustees elected include Anil Boddireddy, Sunny Reddy, Kiran Pasham, Kishore Guduru, Maheedhar Muskula, Narsi Reddy Gaddikoppula, Ramakrishna Reddy Ala, Raju Kakkerla, Sai Sudhini, Srikanth Gudipati, Narsimha Reddy Dhyasani, Raghuveer Maripeddi, Sainath Boyapalli, Satish Reddy, Srinivas Dargula and Vinod Koduru.