Over 2500 devotees attend Vaishnav Temple, NY’s grand Annakut Mahotsav, Govardhan Puja

Community News

Vaishnav Temple of New York held its annual Annakut as part of the Diwali celebration. Annakut celebration was attended by more than  2,500 devotees. All devotees experienced a divine darshan of Lord Shrinathji to begin their new year. The festivity was enjoyed by all ages both young and old. All devotees were invited to take Mahaprasad before leaving the temple. Vaishnav Temple of New York is always glad to have such a tremendous turnout for this special event.
Established in 1988, The Vaishnav Temple of New York is the first traditional ‘Pushtimargiya’ temple in North America. It holds many religious activities every year. It also serves as a community service center whose purpose is to enrich people’s lives.

The Vaishnav Temple of New York participates in many community services such as Senior Citizen Center, Computer Classes, Gujarati Classes, Yoga Classes, and Health Fairs. It also supports HELP ( Human Enrichment by Love & Peace) which aids those struggling after facing natural disasters.

Anil Shah, Trustee of the Temple, said, “With the divine grace of God we have many devotees participating in Annakutotsav,  I really appreciate my Trustees, Board members  Temple committee, and volunteers for their hard work.”

President Jaymin Shah stated that Vaishnavs celebrate Annakut because on this day Lord Krishna lifted the Govardhan hill on his fingertips to save the people of Vrindavan from nature’s fury. Annakut, or mountain of food, is symbolic of the Govardhan hill.

Special Guest Deputy Commissioner Dilip Chauhan mentioned in his speech that “I commend the great volunteers’ work to organize such an amazing Annakutotsav,  I appreciate President Jaimin Shah as well as Trustee  Anil Shah for putting this amazing event together. This event can not be possible without tireless work from the volunteers.”

Current Trustee Board members are  Anil Shah – Chairman, Harshad Patel, Arvind Dharia, Govind Akruwala, Govind Butala, Harish Parikh, Hiten Shah, Mayur Shah, Mukund Mehta, Narendra Shah, Dr. Padmakant Shah, Pravin Parikh, Rohit Sakaria, Setu Shah, Vinod Shah. President – Jaimin Shah, Vice Presidents are Atul Sakaria, Manish Shah, Parthiv Shah, Pradip Parikh, Secretary – Kumar Mathuria, and Treasurer – Pravin Parikh.