Team USA for Under-19 Women’s T20 WC announced, 14 of 15 players are Indian origin

News N Pictures

Team USA announced a 15-player squad for the inaugural edition of the ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 on Wednesday. The U-19 T20 World Cup will be played in South Africa from next month onwards, where a total of 16 teams will lock horns against each other in a bid to become the U-19 Women’s T20 champions. While 11 ICC full-member nations gained automatic qualification for the tournament, the five remaining spots were filled by one team from each of ICC’s five regions, which also included the USA.

Team USA’s 15-member squad for the marquee U-19 tournament includes Geetika Kodali (Captain), Anika Kolan (WK) (Vice Captain), Aditi Chudasama, Bhumika Bhadriraju, Disha Dhingra, Isani Vaghela, Jivana Aras, Laasya Mullapudi, Pooja Ganesh (WK), Pooja Shah, Ritu Singh, Sai Tanmayi Eyyunni, Snigdha Paul, Suhani Thadani, Taranum Chopra.

Reserve players: Chetnaa Prasad, Kasturi Vedantham, Lisa Ramjit, Mitali Patwardhan and Tya Gonsalves.

Netizens were quick to point out that 14 of 15 players were of Indian origin and that it resembled “Team India B”.